• Natural Gas News

    Alberta Regulator Sets New Board


Appointments fulfill Alberta premier's campaign promise

by: Dale Lunan

Posted in:

Natural Gas & LNG News, Americas, Premium, Political, Ministries, Regulation, News By Country, Canada

Alberta Regulator Sets New Board

A new board for the Alberta Energy Regulator (AER) has been named by the province’s energy ministry, fulfilling an election promise made by sitting premier Jason Kenney.

The new board was named April 2, and replaces an interim board established in September 2019.

“The new board will bring a steady hand to the AER during these unprecedented economic times,” Alberta energy minister Sonya Savage said. “We want to ensure that there is a well-functioning regulator in place. With the leadership provided by the new board, Alberta will continue to be a responsible resource developer.”

The board will be chaired for a five-year term by David Goldie, a professional geologist with more than 30 years' experience in the oil and gas business as a senior executive with a number of North American energy companies. He served on the AER’s interim board.

Other board members – also appointed to five-year terms – are Georgette Habib, also a member of the interim board and a former full-time member of the National Energy Board (now the Canada Energy Regulator); Jude Daniels, who has worked in the energy sector since 1998 as both legal counsel and in aboriginal relations; Gary Leach, a lawyer and former executive director of the Explorers and Producers Association of Canada; Tracey McCrimmon, executive director of the Sundre Petroleum Operators Group; Corrina Bryson, a corporate director and independent consultant who also serves on the Canada-Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board and the boards of Emissions Reductions Alberta and the Alberta Petroleum Marketing Commission; and Beverly Yee, Alberta’s deputy minister, environment and parks.

The board appointments follow the appointment of a new CEO for the AER in late March.